<u>33rd Eastern Canadian Bluegrass Music Awards</u> 2017 Winners List

The Downeast Bluegrass & Oldtime Music Society is pleased to announce the winners for the 33rd Annual Eastern Canada Bluegrass Music Awards:

Banjo Player of the Year: Greg Hamilton (Oxbow Mountain Boys) **Bass Player of the Year:** Brian Hazlett (Oxbow Mountain Boys/Shadow River) *MASTER* **Dobro Player of the Year:** George Grant *MASTER* Fiddle Player of the Year: Lucas Munroe (Shadow River) MASTER **Guitar Player of the Year:** Charlie Bourque (Oxbow Mountain Boys) Mandolin Player of the Year: Waylon Robichaud (Shadow River) Male Vocalist of the Year: Trevor Boutilier (Bluegrass Tradition) Female Vocalist of the Year: Vicki Voutour (Acoustic Heartstrings) **Individual Entertainer of the Year:** Brian Hazlett (Oxbow Mountain Boys/Shadow River) **Vocal Group of the Year:** Bluegrass Tradition *MASTER* **Gospel Performance of the Year:** Janet McGarry & Wildwood Most Promising Band of the Year: Matt Lunn & Echo Mountain **Band of the Year:** Bluegrass Tradition **Recording of the Year:** Bluegrass Unit **Composer of the Year:** Ryan Dillman **Promoter of the Year:** Serge Bernard (PEI) **Emcee of the Year:** Brian Hazlett (Oxbow Mountain Boys/Shadow River) *MASTER* **Radio / TV DJ of the Year:** Nancy Keddy - Bluegrass Atlantic (CIOE 97.5FM Sackville) Wilson Moore (Amherst, NS) was presented with a Service Recognition Award. 2017 marks his **40th anniversary** as a Radio DJ hosting a Bluegrass Music Show. Fan of the Year: Robert and Esther LeBlanc (NS) Participation Award: Truro & Area Bluegrass Music Association Shirley Smedley Jay (PEI) was presented with a Lifetime Membership to the Downeast Bluegrass & Oldtime Music Society for her many contributions to Bluegrass.

Information is taken from downeastgrass.com